Mike Walsh, Lawyer
8 W Walton Ave
Muskegon, MI 49440
The Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution provides the legal bedrock for our right to own and - in some instances - carry concealed weapons. Thousands of Federal and State laws exist that govern gun sales, ownership and use.
This page is concerned ONLY with Michigan's statute permitting responsible citizens to carry concealed weapons.
Since 2001, when the Michigan Legislature authorized the first issuance of concealed weapons permits, Michigan has allowed 111,620 residents to carry personal self-protection, specifically concealed handguns. Of those, only 226 revocations have occurred ( Concealed Carry Licensure Report 2004 ). That tells us Michigan gun owners are responsible individuals who take their rights and responsibilities seriously.
If you're interested in obtaining a permit to carry a concealed weapon, we expect you to adhere to these high standards. Here are the basics to keep you out of trouble:
If you want a weapon to impress the opposite sex, to give yourself instant courage, to intimidate others, or for any reason other than enhanced personal protection, stop now.
Make a knowing decision
Carrying a concealed weapon carries only one benefit - enhanced personal protection. It carries certain liabilities, too: Social Liability, Criminal Responsibility, and Civil Liability.
- Social Liability. Guns are a hot-button topic in our country. If you remove the weapon from concealment for any reason you likely will find yourself in the media and your decision to employ a weapon the subject of public and official scrutiny.
- Criminal Responsibility. Use of a weapon results in a criminal investigation by police and prosecutors. If the prosecutor determines your incident to be justified, no charge will follow. If not, you could be exposed to both misdemeanor and felony criminal charges with penalties ranging up to life without parole.
- Civil Responsibility. When serious injury or death results from the use of a weapon, the victim or his/her survivors could sue you for damages. What's at risk? Everything you own.
Use of deadly force
Persons may use deadly force only when confronted with one situation - IMMINENT DANGER OF DEATH.
- At least 21 years of age.
- U.S. Citizen or resident alien.
- Michigan resident for at least 6 months.
- Successful completion of Pistol Safety Training Course.
- Not mentally ill, legally incapacitated, or found guilty but mentally ill or found not guilty by reason of insanity.
- Not subject to a condition of bond removing any gun rights.
- Not subject to Personal Protection Order.
- NO felony convictions.
- NO dishonorable discharge from military service.
- NO misdemeanor convictions/last 3 years.
- Complete the application process
- Schools, day-care centers, colleges, dormitories.
- Sports arenas, stadiums, etc. holding over 2,500.
- Bars but not restaurants that serve alcoholic beverages.
- Federal property, including post offices.
- Places of worship unless permission granted by person in charge.
A number of other states have established reciprocity with Michigan. That is, those states recognize Michigan's permits to carry concealed weapons and vice versa. For an up-to-date list, visit www.mcrgo.org
No 2nd Amendment and no tolerance of concealed weapons. Do not attempt to cross an international border with your weapon.
- No alcohol or drug consumption while carrying weapon.
- Those carrying and stopped by police have affirmative duty to inform officer of the weapon.
Other Michigan gun resources/Michigan firearms laws can be found at: www.michiganlegislature.org